2014 National Chess Teams Championship

Deenbandhoo Survivors emerged as surprise winners in the Primary Schools Division. The team was led by Alanis Reyna with Ashwaal Chand and William May Jr.

A Suva-based Trio were runners up in the Primary division, comprising Meshan Fareed, Anu Perera and Michel Fareed.

The Secondary Schools Division was won by Hot Boys Band with 8 points, comprising James Zhang, Zen Borg and Stanley Zhang.

In the Open division, veteran CM Manoj Kumar’s Rooks took out top honors over Gloria Sukhu’s Orientation, who has to settle for second place. Rooks consisted of CM Manoj Kumar, CM Goru Arvind and Debra Mataika.

Top board scorers were CM Manoj Kumar, CM Goru Arvind and Stanley Zhang.

Tournament Director and Fiji Chess head CM Calvin Prasad was happy with the huge turnout and high level of chess. “The record number of Primary school teams is consistent with our development efforts in getting more youngsters to take up the sport. The youngsters are improving at a rapid pace, and should be able to compete at the highest level in a few years.”

Fiji Chess Federation provided over $ 300 in cash prizes.