2016 Annual General Meeting Results

The Fiji Chess Federation held its 37th Annual General Meeting at FASANOC Olympic House on Wednesday (30th March 2016) evening whereby a new Executive Board was elected. Back in the line-up are President Calvin Prasad and General Secretary Goru Arvind who stood unopposed for their positions.

“I would like to thank all members of Fiji Chess Federation for having confidence once more,” states Prasad. “2015 was eventful for us, since it marked the acceptance of a New Constitution to re-engineer our daily operations. In the playing field, I am particularly impressed with youngsters like Rudr Prasad, Kabrina Terubea, Russell Talonga, William Bennion and Menash Fareed who have won in several events.”

Manoj Kumar was elected as Deputy President, while International Arbiter (IA) Jashint Maharaj and veteran John Caldiera were confirmed as Vice-Presidents. Frederick Sukhu and Ravikesh Prasad were added to the Board as Executive Members, while 4 other members will be announced later. Kiran Khatri was officially appointed as Treasurer.

“It is a pleasure to be General Secretary for a 4th consecutive year,” informs Goru. “We are looking at doing things more efficiently by outsourcing key tasks to a newly appointed Administrative Manager, Tamara Smith. Next thing on the cards is the endorsement of our 2016 World Chess Olympiad Teams for Open and Women. We have a 3-member independent panel working on the selection criteria. They will consider things like individual performances for 2015, player history in World Championships and Oceania Zonals, ability to play in longer formats and overall style of play for elite players who are in the shortlist. The final team will be a mix of youth and experience to create a balance between aggression and resilience.”

Elections were followed by 3 special awards from the President for players who had outstanding achievements in the previous year. Yat Sen Secondary School student Menash Fareed won the 2015 Young Male Player of the Year Award, Nakasi High School student Kabrina Terubea won the 2015 Female Player of the Year Award while National Champion Manoj Kumar bagged the 2015 Player of the Year Award. Each winner received a perpetual trophy.

Fiji Chess Federation is also pleased to announce that it will be hosting the 2016 Fiji Chess Festival at Nadi in August to allow local reps and aspiring Fiji players to compete against some of the best chess players from Guam, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Australia and New Zealand. The Chess Festival will also be a training ground for National reps who will fly to Azerbaijan for the World Chess Olympiad in September.