Author Archives: admin

2013 FMF Under 20 Championship

Keez Terubea won his first major title by securing the FMF Under-20 Championship against the presence of his siblings CM Ronald Terubea and ex-Olympiad representative Kabrina Terubea. The trio dominated the championship and even managed to hold-off WFM Hilda Vukikomoala who suffered a shock loss to Jacquelyn Masilomani. Continue reading

2013 National Primary & Secondary School

12-year old Menash Fareed of Yat Sen Primary School and Ronald Terubea of Nausori High School won the Primary & Secondary School’s Championships respectively at Tappoo City Complex on Sunday 19 May 2013.

The duo continued their impressive performance at the 2013 Oceania Zonal Chess Championship where Menash Fareed scored 3/9 and Ronald Terubea, 5/9. Continue reading

2013 Mohammed Badshah Memorial

CM Calvin Prasad warded off a fiery challenge from CM Manoj Kumar in a nail-biting final match that stretched for 5 hours. He top scored with a flawless 5/5 to win the Mohammed Badshah Memorial Open. Goru Arvind finished in 2nd position with 4/5, while Ronald Terubea secured the 3rd position at 3.5/5 by upsetting CM Manoj Kumar in round 2. Continue reading

2013 Brijlal Open

CM Manoj Kumar snatched the Brijlal Open Title from CM Calvin Prasad in a tie-break that went through 2 x 15 minute rapids and 3 x 5 minute blitz rounds. Both players were tied at 4.5 out of 5, and in the final round CM Calvin lost on time by a bare 2 seconds. Goru Arvind finished 3rd with 3 points. Continue reading