2014 Brijlal Rapid Open

Candidate Master (CM) Calvin Prasad won the Brijlal Rapid Open despite a loss to defending champion CM Manoj Kumar in the final round by virtue of tie-break. CM Goru Arvind caused a rattle in the final results as he beat Manoj Kumar in a critical match. Continue reading

2014 National Tappoo City Blitz

Young Candidate Master (CM) Ronald Terubea won the 3rd Tappoo City sponsored National Blitz Chess Championship in dramatic fashion after a three-way tie with CM Calvin Prasad and CM Manoj Kumar where all players had 13.5/16. However, Ronald Terubea reigned supreme since he defeated the duo in earlier rounds. CM Goru Arvind and Tianata Terubea finished 4th and 5th respectively with 12/16.

Continue reading